About Us

Boonton Township is a pastoral community comprised of approximately 8 square miles nestled among the rolling hills and fields of the Rockaway Valley in north central Morris County. Boonton Township has managed to preserve much of its natural character and rural charm despite development pressure from neighboring municipalities, which today makes Boonton Township one of the more desirable communities in Morris County.

The Township government consists of a five-member Township Committee. The Township Committee members are elected for a three-year term. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are selected by the Township Committee. The Township employs 17 full-time and 7 part-time personnel.